Weight Loss

Minus Monday – Week 8*

*You may have noticed there is no week 7. Here’s why….

For the past two weeks, I’ve been in “survival” mood (as in, be sure everyone makes it to bedtime alive). This is due to 4 of 6 family members taking to their beds with illness. I’m talking fever, congestion, vomiting, croup….along with several doctor visits and one emergency room trip. It’s been fun here. One of the most frustrating things as a parent is seeing your kids hurting and not being able to make them better with a snap of your fingers.

Oh, and did I mention my dishwasher broke?

As you may imagine, we had to cancel a few things. 5k? Nope, holding a child with fever. Renaissance Festival? Nope, no going outdoors, per doctor’s orders. Thanksgiving? Really, really short with lots of sitting still. Wedding? I put in an appearance, then hurried back.

On the positive side, everyone is more or less back to normal. Some lingering symptoms, but the worst is behind us (please, let the worst be behind us).

What happens to healthy living when you are running crazy? Well, I still need food and I’ve built up enough of a habit by this point to choose good things. It’s really not a good idea, when you are trying to care for sick people, to eat junk, no matter how easy it seems at the time. It would drag me down, right at the time I need the most energy. I did slack a bit on water, simply from forgetting to refill my bottle and keep it at my fingertips.

Honestly, workouts are what suffered the most. It’s hard to leave a kid that just wants you to sit with them to go and exercise. I’ve gotten one in here or there when they slept, but nothing consistent. I am looking forward to some good ones; I really need to destress.

Even with all this, I still managed to get the scale moving down again (120.6). In my personal, non-scientific opinion, good eating has a greater effect on weight loss than exercise.

My goal for this week is to simply make my 5 workouts, drink all my water, and continue to make healthy choices in eating (and pray I don’t get sick). I found this while looking around for information on vegetables. Allow me to pull out one part:

“What does “plenty” mean? More than most Americans consume. If you don’t count potatoes—which should be considered a starch rather than a vegetable—the average American gets a total of just three servings of fruits and vegetables a day. The latest dietary guidelines call for five to thirteen servings of fruits and vegetables a day (2½ to 6½ cups per day), depending on one’s caloric intake. (1) For a person who needs 2,000 calories a day to maintain weight and health, this translates into nine servings, or 4½ cups per day (2 cups of fruit and 2½ cups of vegetables).”

I don’t eat anywhere near 2,000 calories a day; more like 1,300. My current eating of 2 cups of veggies and one cup of fruit (6 servings) is pretty much where it needs to be. I wouldn’t mind eating more, but I also have to balance a budget. This is a healthy level for both my body and my pocketbook, so unless something drastically changes, this is where I will stay.

Leave a Reply

