Weight Loss

Minus Monday – Week 5

I wish to make an accusation!

I accuse overeating, in the kitchen, with a fork.

*Peaks at food diary*

Yes! I win!

Sort of. The scale read 121.2 lbs, down .2 from last week, but more importantly I’ve proved my guess correct (you can read my meal list below). I think the food I ate was mostly nutritious stuff, aside from the yummies I was brought for my birthday this week (hello, 33! Why do people default to sweets as a gift? And why do I feel an obligation to eat them?)

Just for the fun of it, I did some math. I’m averaging between 1300 – 1500 calories a day. While I seem to be able to maintain my weight with this (I’ve hovered around 121 for months now), apparently I can’t lose at that level.

I don’t want to get stressed about calorie counting, but I am going to try to lower my daily intake by a bit. The trick is going to be making sure every bite is as nutritious as possible. The food journal was a rather good way to make me conscious of how much I am eating, so I will continue writing everything down. I’m also going up to 2 cups of vegetables and 1 cup of fruit daily.

On the exercising front, my knee became inflamed after sparring class early in the week. I didn’t want to strain it by lifting weights and it would twinge while walking, so running or bag work was out. Options being limited, I turned to bikes. I’m not a fan of them, but I would rather do that than miss a workout entirely. I don’t even own one, but my kids do. I borrowed my son’s (we’re the same size) and headed out.

While I’m still not crazy about it, I have to admit my legs were burning and my heart was pumping by the time 25 minutes were up. There has been a good breeze the past week and going against that was quite a workout. On the whole I will be grateful that the week wasn’t a bust, though I’m looking forward to my normal routine this week. I walked/slow jogged for 30 minutes today, but I’m still a little leery of putting extra weight on my knee right now. I’ll see towards the end of the week how it’s feeling; maybe I can get some weight training in then.

Feeling very hopeful about this week! Oh, and all the cookies are finally gone.

Food Diary Week 1

(all meals homemade)

Day 1- Protein bar. 1/2 cup oatmeal with milk. 1/2 cup cottage cheese on toast with 1/2 cup grapes. 1/2 cup oatmeal with milk. Turkey lasagna with 1.5 cups baby carrots. 1 cup hot chocolate. 3 bottles of water.

Day 2 – Protein bar. 1/2 cup oatmeal with milk. 3/4 cup plain yogurt with 1/2 cup mixed berries. Turkey lasagna. Protein bar. 1.5 cups baby carrots with 2 tbsp hummus. 2 slices buttered bread. 1 glass mead. 3 bottles of water.

Day 3 – Protein bar. 1 cup chicken stir-fry. 5 oatmeal chocolate cookies. 1 cup plain yogurt with 1/2 cup banana. Turkey lasagna. 2 cups lettuce and tomato salad. 1 oatmeal cookie. 1 cup tea. 3 bottles of water.

Day 4 – Protein bar. Bavarian creme chocolate eclair. Turkey lasagna. 1 slice cake. 1 apple. 2 cups lettuce and carrot salad. Chicken stir-fry. 1 cup of tea. 3 bottles of water.

Day 5 – Protein bar. 2 cups spaghetti squash. 2 toast with hummus and olives. 1/2 cup plain yogurt with banana. 4 cups stove popped popcorn. 1 cup shrimp spaghetti with whole wheat noodles and butternut squash. 1 oatmeal cookie. 3 bottles of water. 1 cup of tea.

Day 6 – Protein bar. 1 cup plain yogurt with banana. 1 cup shrimp spaghetti with whole wheat noodles. 2 cookies. 1/2 cup cottage cheese with toast. 2 cups butternut squash. 3 bottles of water. 1 cup of tea.

Day 7 – Protein bar. 1 apple with 2 tbsp peanut butter. 1 turkey sandwich on whole wheat with 1/2 cup lettuce and tomato and 1 oz chips. 2 cookies. 1 cup shrimp spaghetti. 1 cookie. 1 cup carrots with hummus. 3 bottles of water. 1 cup of tea.

I also drink about 4 cups of coffee with a tiny bit of milk (2 in the morning, 2 in the afternoon) each day. What can I say? It keeps me going.

Leave a Reply

