Weight Loss

Minus Monday – Week 3

Two words: Halloween candy. I have bags of the stuff just staring me in the face, saying “Come on. Just one; it’ll be fine.” Not the cheap candy, either. Kit Kats, Butterfingers, Heath bars, Milky Way; those parents bought the really good ones to share. Sheesh. I’m hiding those suckers out of sight and out of reach. My husband can get them down for the kids; I don’t have much willpower when it comes to Whoppers.

The party wasn’t as bad as I thought. There ended up being a lot more people than I planned on. I spent so much time making sure everything was running smoothly, I didn’t get to sample the goodies. They had pretty much vanished by the time everyone went home, so I only had a tiny bite after a small bowl of gumbo. I guess that’s one way to avoid temptation.

Now, how’d the rest of the week go? 

2o mins of cardio 5 days a week – I finally did all 5 days!

10 mins of weight training 3 days a week – Almost. I did 2.

3 bottles of water per day – Got it. Honestly, this one is shaping up to be really easy to remember. That bottle is a great helper.

1 cup of veggies per day – Sigh. I’m going to have to work on this A LOT. I only ate 2 cups the whole week.

Weight this week: 120.4

Not quite the 1/2 lb I was looking for, but pretty close. I’ll take it and keep going.

This week’s exercise: bag workouts (20 minutes, 5 days). Punches and kicks are a great cardio workout and stress reliever for me; when I’m done, I feel awesome. Plus, I need the practice for my test and my hips need a break from the jogging. I am also adding 5 minutes and a couple of pounds to the weights I lift, making my muscles work a bit harder (15 minutes, 3 days).

My main focus, though, is going to be eating my greens. It’s something I’ve struggled with since the beginning of this journey. I don’t naturally reach for vegetables when I’m hungry; I don’t crave them, I don’t go looking for them. I do it because it is good for my body and a good example for my kids. It’s kinda hard for me to tell them to eat them if I don’t do it myself. 1 cup a day. 2 servings. I can do this. I will do this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

