Weight Loss

Hey, where are you going?

This past weekend I attended a wedding. It was a pretty fancy event, more so than any I’ve attended, and I needed an outfit to match. After doing some hunting in local stores and online, I picked out a cocktail dress (my first!) several months before the wedding was to take place. It was a soft burgandy color and fit me well. I showed it to a few people to get their opinions and everyone complimented me on the way it looked. I hung it up in the closet and would glance at it now and then, looking forward to wearing it.

When it was time to leave, I put it on, along with some high heels (also new) and headed out. I was feeling pretty good about myself, walking around in this sparkly new dress, until I struck up a conversation with someone I knew. Who then looked at me and asked, “Hey, are you pregnant?”

Ouch. Any ladies out there ever hear that? Did it make you want to sit and cry? Or maybe just strangle the person that said it? For me, it was kinda both. When I got back home, I took a long look in the mirror to see if there was any basis for that comment. To my annoyance, I could see his point (a little).

I said before this school year has been a tough one. I don’t want to go into my crazy schedule right now, but it’s a doozy (isn’t everyone’s?)  My point is being healthy has been put on the back burner for the last few months. While I enjoy exercising and feeling great, it is sooo easy to just push it off with the excuse that I’m too busy right now.

The problem is, if you are too busy to care for yourself, you are just too busy period. I am not living in a situation where I have to work to keep the wolf from the door; almost everything that has me running around is optional. They are good things, sure, but nothing that is absolutely necessary. I either have to scale back or make the time. I am choosing for now to make the time.

It is hard to have nebulous goals; how do you know if you’ve accomplished them if they aren’t laid out? Here’s my list:

-Lose 6 pounds (1/2 pound a week) in 3 months

-Run at least a 30 min 5k in four weeks

-Be able to crank out 20 pushups in 3 months

-Be able to kick to my head height in 3 months

How am I going to do all that? As soon as I get the plan all worked out, I’ll post it.

Leave a Reply

