Weight Loss

“The journey of…

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

― Lao Tzu

Cool, I have a blog! A blog….and no set plan for it.  I have dreams of writing books, but very little actual practice. So I will start small: this one little corner of the internet. It may seem a bit chaotic at times. I have a wide range of interests, some of which may make you scratch your head. But don’t worry: there is a method to the madness.

What shall we talk about first? Hmm. Oh, I know! Today is the first day of my new get healthy(er) plan. I am not in terrible shape, but lately there’s been no exercising, or eating right, or, well, any number of things you’re supposed to do. The reason? A new school year that has so far kicked my butt. I feel like I’m holding on to life with a death grip so I don’t completely lose my mind. This doesn’t leave much energy for self-improvement, but I am determined to find some. Even if it kills me.

I’ve gotten healthy (then not so healthy), many times. Overall, I am better than I was years ago (i.e. Little Mrs. Debbie is no longer welcome in my home), but it is one of those three steps forward, two steps back things. And here I am again, on the not so healthy end.

However, this time is going to be different, because I am going to do something I never had the guts to do before: I am going to make it public. To understand how terrifying that is, I must tell you that I am an introvert. When I begin a new project, I stay mum until *I* know how it will turn out. So this is a big step for me, because I don’t know how this will end. I might succeed wildly by meeting all my goals. I might fall flat on my face. Either way, I am not giving myself much of a wall to hide behind and I’m almost as scared as I was to get on a plane for the first time.

     Now, let’s talk numbers. Deep breath. Breathe in, breathe out. Ok, I’m ready. I am 5′ tall. I weigh 121 lbs and would like to weigh 115 lbs. That is six pounds that I really want to lose and never find again.

     I see your face; don’t look at me like that. I know it’s not a lot. I am not one of those inspiring stories where someone has lost hundreds of pounds. I know people like that and they rock. I have, however, clawed my way down from 154 and, doggoneit, I want to finally reach and stay at the goal I set nearly 5 years ago. 

It isn’t just the number, though. I want to be able to keep up with my kids.  I want to get a better time when I run my next 5k race. I don’t want to get stuck on my anniversary 2 day hike because I can’t walk another step. I don’t want to pass out during my black belt test.

The next few weeks I’ll talk about what is working and what isn’t. I will also post my triumphs and failure, no matter how tiny. In the end, it’s the small steps that will take us where we want to go.

Leave a Reply

